A Closer Look

How often do you take time to examine a tree?  I don’t mean just taking in the tree as a whole, but getting right next to it and observing the patterns and colors in the bark.  My time spent working at Bryce Canyon National Park taught me to take a closer look at trees.  Little things add up to a magnificent whole.  Here are some pictures featuring nature’s art in trees.

Totally twisted Ponderosa along Fairyland Loop, Bryce Canyon

Rain accentuates the colors in the bark on this one near Bryce Point.

Bark beetles can kill trees, but their patterns look nice. Another Ponderosa along the Fairyland Loop.

Beautiful swirls on this one; unfortunately I can't remember what species of tree! This was taken along the East Rim Trail, Zion National Park.

The work of bark beetles on a cottonwood, Zion National Park

See how smooth the ocean has made this driftwood log on Second Beach, Olympic National Park

More driftwood patterns. Driftwood is so picturesque as it has the advantage of the ocean in the sculpting process.

This entry was posted in General, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Closer Look

  1. Karmen says:

    These are SO nice! I agree, wood is beautiful in almost every form — living as well as after living….

  2. I’m having a hard time trying to figure out the correct way to leave a comment to your posts. If this is in the wrong place, just delete it! I came across ‘A closer Look’ by following a link in a Google image search for Zion NP wildflowers. Don’t ask me why that link exists. I just wanted to say how very much I enjoyed the pictures of wood…trunks, bark, beetle tracks, all of them. They’re gorgeous, and right in line with the sort of thing I love to see and photograph myself. More than that, I want to express how interesting I have found a number of the recent blogs by each of you. I’ve bookmarked your site, and will be returning often.
    - Elizabeth

  3. Sam says:

    You’ve captured some brilliant photos of the finer details you can find in Bryce Canyon! I remember photographing one straight yet spiral twisted tree while on the Fairyland Loop Trail in Bryce Canyon National Park.

Leave a Reply

